I've been thinking...

29/08/2013 08:40

It's dangerous when I think, but I have been. I'm needing to get out of the house, I really am, and seeing as I don't work because I'm hubby's carer, I have been pondering on what to do.

On the times hubby is not home I've been feeling lost, and this has been bringing me down, so for a while I've pondered this, and I'm not sure how to go about it, but when I write things down here I tend to get off my behind and do them, so here goes.

There is an "Old people's home" in the town I live in, and I have been thinking about volunteering and taking our dog down. I'm wondering if this would be allowed, or if indeed they'd want me to, but I've seen the way hubby is with the dog, and I thought that maybe they'd like him to visit once a week. I know it's an "Old people's home" (what is the correct term for this?), and there will be different issues for the residents to be there, but surely our little dog visiting might be something that they would enjoy. He's a friendly little thing and would love the attention spent on him by the residents.

I need to do something other than housework, and just thought that for a couple of hours a week it would give me pleasure to see other people enjoy what hubby enjoys with our pet. Please let me know if you think that this is a good idea or not (email/twitter) and whether you think I should bite the bullet by either phoning them or just popping in. Infact, I think I would just pop in because it's not far, but even if they didn't want me to visit with the dog, maybe I could just visit anyway.

It's just a thought. x

...Back in the real world though, I'm really struggling with hubby at the moment. I just don't know where I'm going wrong. The house hunting online really throws me, and puts focus on the finances that we don't have and the fact that I don't want to go anywhere just irritates him. I'm stopping him doing what he wants to do and my place is just to shut up and do as I'm told. Last time this became a big issue, his mother said that I should just go "Ok. On you go." to let him know I wouldn't go, but seriously, after everything we go through it seems a bit pathetic to say if he moves he goes alone. I couldn't do that to him, but then I wouldn't move either.

On a positive note, the sun is promising to shine :o). That means I can rattle through the washing and get some ironing done, and don't forget the cooker. It needs to be cleaned. Ho hum. For all life has it's ups and downs, it can be tedious sometimes. That's the rollercoaster that is Dementia for you.

Back

Search site

constantlytrying@hotmail.com © 2013 All rights reserved.